CHARMANDER NEST: Pasig Rainforest Park

This is a late post, so I’m pretty sure that this Park is no longer a Charmander nest. At the time I went there, I never thought that I should be writing about my Pokemon Go Nest trips. How I do regret not thinking about this sooner. I didn’t even take that much photos! (drat šŸ˜¦ ). Despite that, I still choose to write about it right now to share to you my experience catching Charmanders and checking out the amazing attractions in this place.

Location.

Pasig Rainforest Adventure Park is located in F. Legaspi Ave. Maybunga, Pasig City. You can askĀ Waze on how to get there if you’re driving.

If you’reĀ wondering how to get there by commute:

  1. Go to SM Megamall (you can ride an MRT, and go down at Ortigas Station. If you’re coming from the South, you can ride a bus going to Fairview, then go down in front of SM Megamall. If you’re from the North, you can ride any bus that goes through EDSA, like LRT Ayala, Baclaran, etc., then go down on the other side of the Avenue, opposite the mall.)
  2. Make your way to SM Megamall Building B.
  3. Find the Entrance/Exit of Building B that is under the part of the mall that connects its two buildings.
  4. There, you’ll find UV Express Vans going to Angono (they’re lined up waiting for passengers. Just ask the guard if you can’t find them. But they’re just there, adjacent to the Taxi Bay line).
  5. Tell the driver that you’re gonna go down at Pasig Rainforest park. If you’re gonna play Pokemon Go, I assume you have internet, so it would be better to check Google maps along the way, just in case the driver forgets about dropping you off there.)
  6. Once you’re there, whip out your phone and get ready to catch some Pokemon!

pasig-rainforest-map

PASIG RAINFOREST ADVENTURE EXPERIENCE

aka “RAVE”

rave

Silph Road’s nest Atlas is a great friend of mine when it comes to playing Pokemon Go. This is the website that I look at every Sunday to check if there are any interesting nests that I could go to during my days off from work (every Monday and Tuesday). If you haven’t heard about it, you can go check it out here. Using theĀ Global Nest Atlas is pretty easy, so I’m pretty sure you would know what to do once you get to the site.

The Nest showed me thatĀ CHARMANDERĀ species have a nest in RAVE. That caught my attention, because here in the country, Charmander RARELY appears anywhere. So I had to take a chance. I had to get myself candies for a Charizard. I then decided that I won’t skip this chance.

It was in November 14 when I opted to go to the park by commute, because that has always been my primary mode of transportation ever since then. I don’t own my own car, and even if I did, I’d be probably too cheap to even spend for gas LOL. When the van that I was riding on was getting close to the park, I fired up my Pokemon Go (during the trip, I was using Google maps, so I’d be updated real time on where I already was. The journey going to the park was all too foreign for me, so I wanted to make sure that I know where exactly in which part of the world I was.) True enough Charmander quickly showed up in my sightings.

Approximately 5 meters from my drop-off point, by the Pokestop in the front Parking lot of the Park, a Charmander appeared. I collected so much Ultra Balls for that occassion, so I didn’t have a hard time catching that first Charmander.

After catching my first Nest Charmander, I saw a couple calling out to me. “Brad, Brad! May Charmander dito!!” said the guy. Apparently, this coupleĀ was riding in the same van as mine, and noticed that I had my Pokemon Go on. They quickly figured out that I came for the Charmander Nest. I haven’t even gotten in the park yet, and I already met friendly Trainers.

Again, I am deeply sorry for the lack of photos.

It sucks, really.

The Park Charmanders.

A lot of you might be wondering if the park has an entrance fee.Ā Nope, getting in the Park was free. Some attractions require you to pay though, to see them. If you are interested in checking out the attractions, check out the park’s website here and look for the Park Rates.

Once I started walking around, I began to indulge myself in the fact that the Charmanders were EVERYWHERE. Cluster Spawns were coming out in most of the Pokestops in the first few minutes of my time there. In less than an hour, I already caught 10 Charmanders!

Pokemon Go players were everywhere too. You’d easily detect them because they all have their phones out, which were all hooked on to a powerbank. You’d even see some so focused on their phones, with their fingers swiping up on their phone screens, that you’d sometimes worry that they’d come to the point of breaking their phones.

I made quite a few friends while I roamed around the park. Trainers who were in there were helping me out in finding the location of the Charmanders, and other rare Pokemon. It had been a long time since I’ve seen clusters of trainers playing ever since the time that the hype for them game died down. I feel like the ones who were still left playing, are the ones who know what the whole point of the game really is. And if you’re a trainer, and you’re reading this now, I’m pretty sure you know what I’m talking about.

Charmanders weren’t the only fictional creatures in this park.

A lot of dinosaur statues were positioned everywhere! Some of them were quite terrifying, while the others were kind of cute. Not only that, but there were also statues of some creatures from Alice in Wonderland. There was a hedge maze there with a tower in the middle styled in a way that it would look like it was taken from the set of Alice in Wonderland. According to the park staff, the whole point of that attraction was for you to find a way out by starting from the tower, going up to its roof (?), and looking for a path out of the maze. You’d then have to memorize that path once you enter the hedge maze.

I Don’t Have Photos of those statues, not even the Hedge Maze.

It sucks, I know.

Animals and Pokemon Co-exist here.

Inside the park was a mini zoo. In this zoo, you’ll find a lot of different species of certain types of Animals. I didn’t get to enter the zoo (it had a fee, and I’m cheap), but looking from outside, I saw a lot of Monkeys, Birds, and even an ostrich. There’s probably more than that, but you can go check it out for yourself when you get there. While writing this, I am starting to regret how I didn’t go see it.

Again, I got no photos.

In the center of the Park was a completely beautiful Amphitheater. The path going to it has an equally beautiful fountain too.

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

Walking around the park, I saw a lot of things that caught my eye. One of them is related to one of the best things that exist in this life of ours: Star Wars

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

An X-Wing (kind of) with R2-D2 on top, and a helmet of a Stormtrooper. Arranged in a way where it looked like it came from an abandoned circus. This setting is just perfect for taking a photo of.

I am a massive Star Wars fan, and I couldn’t resist not taking a photo of this thing of beauty. Oh, and here’s a photo of my growing Star Wars Toy collection:

Processed with VSCO with n1 preset

The Park was amazing

Too bad I didn’t take much photos.

In my stay in the Park, I got a lot of Charmanders (from 2-4:30pm). I transferred most of them though, to save Pokemon Storage Space, as well as to add up to my Charmander Candies.

img3350

Prior to visiting the nest, there was a Halloween Event where you could quadruple the candies that your Buddy Pokemon gets upon reaching your normally required distance for that specific Pokemon. For that Event, I had my Charmander as my Buddy all throughout. I went to RAVE with 90 Charmander candies, and left there with 144 candies. And yes, as you can see from the photo above, I finally raised enough to get this:

img3349

What a Beautiful sight to behold.

The Park is incredible. With or without Pokemon Go as your purpose of going there, I recommend that you go visit this place and enjoy its attractions. All your family members would surely love this place.

On this nest adventure, I got to meet new friends, found a new place that I wouldn’t have the initiative to go to initially (but right now, I can’t wait to go back), and had a great walking exercise. I do not regret travelling all that distance to visit this wonderful park.

***AS OF THE DAY OF THIS WRITING: The Seventh Great Migration is in effect. The Park is now a nest of Pinsirs, Staryu, Krabby, and Exeggcute.

One thought on “CHARMANDER NEST: Pasig Rainforest Park

Leave a Reply

